Independent Student Newspaper Since 1969

The Badger Herald

Independent Student Newspaper Since 1969

The Badger Herald

Independent Student Newspaper Since 1969

The Badger Herald


Raiola named to Rimington watch list

Wisconsin junior Donovan Raiola was recently one of 36 players
named to the preseason “watch list” for the 2004
Rimington Trophy, which is awarded annually to recognize the best
center in college football.

Raiola, who started all 13 games last season and earned
honorable mention All-Big Ten honors, joins an elite group with his
selection to the Rimington watch list. Former Badger Al Johnson was
one of five finalists for the award in 2002, and Raiola’s
brother, Dominic, was the award’s first recipient in 2000 as
a member of the Nebraska Cornhuskers. Other Rimington Trophy
winners include Virginia Tech’s Jake Grove (2003),
Miami’s Brett Romberg (2002) and Ohio State’s LeCharles
Bentley (2001).

Of the 36 players on this season’s watch list, six come
from the Big Ten, including Michigan’s Mark Bihl,
Minnesota’s Greg Eslinger, Iowa’s Brian Ferentz and
Michigan State’s Chris Morris.


The Rimington Trophy is named for Dave Rimington, a former
Nebraska standout who twice earned All-America honors and won the
Outland Trophy twice in his remarkable career. The recipient of the
award is determined by a consensus of All-America teams selected by
the Walter Camp Football Foundation, America Football Coaches
Association, Football Writers Association of America, the
Associated Press and The Sporting News.


— compiled from staff reports

Leave a Comment
Donate to The Badger Herald

Your donation will support the student journalists of University of Wisconsin-Madison. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
Donate to The Badger Herald

Comments (0)

All The Badger Herald Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *